Day 2: Priorities and Time Management

I haven’t always been good at prioritizing or managing my time. Honestly, I’m still not. But, well, I’ve learned to accept that. I try to think about how to prioritize or when the best time to do this or that is. What do I rank as more important and least important for my day-to-day living? How much time should I expend for each of these tasks?

Well, at first, I struggled. I struggled with time management in my current chapter of life, and my priorities, because it was all so new to me and I didn’t know how I would be able to do anything. In the summer, things were fine. 4.5 graduate credits, 20 hours a week, part-time, working with kiddos, running in the morning, working out in the evening, doing my homework in between, talking to my boyfriend at 10:30PM every night. It was easy. And then, come late August, I got 19 credits (8 classes), weekly homework assignments, working 15 hours a week, part-time, working with kiddos, talking to my boyfriend at 10:30-11PM every night, well, I got lost. I’ve always been lost, though.

Ever since I hit college, I lost all sense of time management and priorities. I didn’t do as well as I wanted to do which is why I got even more lost once grad school hit me. 19 credits as an undergrad and working 10-15 hours a week was doable. I was even able to workout almost every day and eat healthily. Maybe it’s because I lived on campus but now? But with the same schedule as a grad student and trying to get all A’s? I don’t know how some people do it.

It took me two and a half months to get a steady schedule and I’m still moving into week two of this steady schedule and newfound mindset I have. I have a routine that I’ve been working on ever since late August came rolling around. All I had to do was set up time for everything for the first few weeks and figure out how long it took me to do my homework. I had to debate on how much effort I wanted to put into the homework and factor that in with the time it took. I struggled so much, I stopped working out and working out is very important to me.

Anyway, as time went on, I realized that this wasn’t working for me. I was getting very stressed and I wasn’t sure about what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do anything, and how I should do things. I was on a routine, but one where I didn’t feel positive and mindful. So, this is what I did.

I don’t think this will help anyone out but I just let things fall into place. I ended up setting a routine for myself by not thinking about it. I’ve learned to estimate my time well enough so I can do house chores, do my homework, get to work and classes on time, and find time to work out. I’ve realized that it’s my motivation that’s a big key in my success to scheduling a daily routine for myself. Once I got that going, I just needed to stay positive.

So, here’s what helped me:

  • I let things fall into place.
  • I try to stay motivated.
  • I stay positive.

So, how do I stay motivated and positive so that I can keep up with my time management and priorities? Well, those are conversations for another time. Right now, my main focus is on how those two things help me keep up with my current schedule. I don’t think this will help many people, but explaining it helps me understand why I do what I do and how I do what I do.

 

-lex

Leave a Reply

