Day 30: 3 Things I do to Stay Positive

No, I am not going to say that being mindful is one of the things I do to stay positive. It honestly isn’t. Instead, I can finally say something different, rather than repeat myself.

  • Think happy thoughts. Honestly, this is what I do to stay positive during dire times. Sometimes, I like to make the excuse: “Today just sucks, so I’m gonna not be positive” [insert angry face]. However, I’ve realized that it doesn’t help better anything. What does, though, is sticking to the happy thoughts, the happy memory, and realizing that, even though today sucks, there will always be a better day.
  • Look for the silver lining. If you can’t think happy thoughts, try to look for the silver lining, no matter how small it may be. For example, a stranger smiles at you. If that’s too creepy or something, here’s another example: You ate a meal on time for once! Anything can be a silver lining, if you  just look for it. Some of my own favorite silver linings are the clouds in the sky, the sun in the sky, the rain that gently pours from the sky, or the simple cool breeze on a hot summer’s day.
  • Smile. I read somewhere that smiling will actually boost your attitude, even if you’re upset or faking it! So, smile away. You’ve probably got a beautiful smile anyway!

If none of these work, honestly, just fake it till you make it. Not the best thing to say, but it works. If you’re having a bad day or feeling like a pessimist, just fake the positivity and it will definitely find its way to you. It definitely does for me.

 

-lex

Leave a Reply

